I always have quinoa leftovers. I also usually have some veggies in the fridge. Combining the two typically produces delicious entrees or side dishes. Tonight I cooked one, using my brand new Xtrema pot I bought off dr. Mercola’s website. Xtrema cookware looks sleek, is easy to clean, can be used both on the stove, in the oven or in a microwave and most importantly, it does not leak heavy metals into foods. My new pot exceeded my expectations: it heated the food evenly, nothing stuck to it,’ it kept the food warm for a while afterwards and it looked really good. I am happy to know that my new pots and pans are going to not just be pretty and cook foods well, but also contribute to my family’s health. Anyway, here’s what i made:

Yummy Quinoa Dish

Ingredients:

Quinoa, cooked- 3 cups

Carrots, grated – 3/4 cup

Broccoli florets – 1/2  cup

Onions, diced -1 medium

Tofu, cubed – 1 cup (or use cooked chicken instead)

Zucchini, chopped -1 medium

Parsley, chopped  – 1/2 cup

Braggs Aminos 2 tbsp

Olive oil – 1/4cup

Garlic – 2 cloves, diced

Paprika to taste

Warm up 1/2 of the olive oil in the  pan. Add the onions and saute for 3 minutes. Add the  Braggs and the tofu (or chicken. ) Saute for another 4 mins, or until the tofu has a little crust. Add the remaining oil, the carrots , the parsley and the broccoli. Lower the flame, cover with the lid and let simmer for another 2 mins. Add some water, if things are getting sticky. Add the remaining veggies and let simmer for two more minutes. Mix in the  quinoa. Taste and add the  spices. Let simmer for another 2  minutes.

Image credit

