I love Caesar salad, but am not a fan of the creamy, heavy anchovy-rich dressing and the parmesan cheese on top. The web is full of vegan raw caesar dressings: I tried a few and eventually came up with this one. I think it tastes great.  I like to take some sprouted bread, cut it into little pieces, drizzle olive oil on it and bake it in the oven for croutons. I also like to make my Caesar a little bit more fun than just the Romaine lettuce in a bowl, so I add things like cherry tomatoes, celery slices, chopped onions or grated carrots. Chickpeas, cubed tofu or almond slices taste well in this salad and also add protein.

Let me know your thoughts.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup soaked almonds

1 tsp tahini

2 stalks of celery

1/4 onion, chopped

1 garlic clove

2 tbsp olive oil

juice 1/2 of a lemon

4 tbsp water (or more, depending on the desired consistency)

1 tsp kelp granules (optional, but good for recreating the anchovy taste)

salt, pepper to taste

Put everything in a blender and process until smooth.

Image credit: Rose

