Today, I was making some butternut squash puree for my babies ( they have tried broccoli, cauliflower, sweet potato, carrot, apple, cucumber, banana, avocado, quinoa, buckwheat and butternut squash so far.) Then, I realized I had way too much leftover squash. In a case like this, I usually make a soup, but today I was craving something cold, so I made a smoothie instead. A pretty great one, I might add.

Butternut squash is rich in Vitamins A and C; and minerals, such as potassium and manganese. It is also rich in fiber. Butternut squash is  good for blood sugar regulation and prevention of type 2 diabetes. The  B-vitamin like compound d-chiro-inositol-a has been connected to blood sugar stabilization by multiple studies.  Blood sugar regulation is also associated with other B-complex vitamins, and squash provides a good amount of five B-complex vitamins, such as B1, B3, B6, pantothenic acid, and folate.

 


   Butternut Squash Smoothie

 

 

Ingredients:

for 2 cups:

  • 1 cup butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup milk or almond milk ( soy works, too)
  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. of agave or a few drops of stevia or one date
  • 4 ice cubes
Put the squash in a pot, cover with water, so there is about 1 inch of water over the squash. Bring to a boil and simmer for about 7 minutes, or until the squash gets soft (test with a fork.) Cool the squash in the refrigerator ( or freezer, if in a hurry.) Blend the squash with all other ingredients.

 

